Dr. Hadjistavropoulos obtained her Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology at the University of British Columbia in 1995. She is a registered doctoral psychologist in Saskatchewan and is also certified by Canadian Association of Cognitive and Behavioural Therapies, the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards, and the Canadian Register of Health Services Providers in Psychology.

Dr. Hadjistavropoulos is a Full Professor of Psychology at the University of Regina, Founder and Director of the Online Therapy Unit and Founder and Principal Investigator of PSPNET. Dr. Hadjistavropoulos previously served as Director of Clinical Training and Director of the Psychology Training Clinic for ~14 years.

Prior to working at the University, Dr. Hadjistavropoulos held the position of Associate Director, Clinical Research and Development in the former Regina Health District and as such led decision-makers, service providers, and students in health research endeavors and development of evidence-based recommendations to improve health care.

Dr. Hadjistavropoulos has published and presented her research widely (>170 peer-reviewed publications and >175 peer-reviewed presentations) and has also been successful in securing substantial national (e.g., Canadian Institutes of Health Research) and provincial (e.g., Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation) funding to support her research. She has led or co-led over 50 research grants/contracts with over $22 million in funding. She has employed over 95 research assistants and associates, and provided extensive research supervision at the undergraduate (26 students) and graduate level (21 MA and 20 PHD students).

Dr. Hadjistavropoulos has been recognized by many organizations for her contributions to research, teaching and clinical service delivery.

  • 2018-2019 - SHRF Excellence Award for highest rated Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation's 2018-2019 Patient-Oriented Research Leadership Grant Competition II in partnership with Saskatchewan Centre for Patient-Oriented Research
  • 2019 - Women Leaders in Digital Health 2019: peer-recognized by Digital Health Canada as being a female visionary harnessing the power of IT to transform health and healthcare in Canada today. Acknowledged as having significantly contributed to the advancement of digital health in Canada through leadership, influence, involvement, and impact.
  • 2019 - Ronald Melzack - Canadian Journal of Pain 2018 Paper of the Year Award “Effectiveness, acceptability and feasibility of an Internet-delivered cognitive behavioral pain management program in a routine online therapy clinic in Canada”
  • 2018 - CIHR Best Brains Exchange Travel Award and Prize for “Virtual Care in Mental Health and Addictions Best Brains Exchange”, Halifax, Nova Scotia October 30, 2018
  • 2017 - National Recipient, CAMH Difference Makers – 150 Leading Canadians for Mental Health
  • 2016 - Fellow, Canadian Association of Cognitive Behavioural Therapies
  • 2014 - Fellow, Canadian Psychological Association
  • 2011 - Fellow, Clinical Section of the Canadian Psychological Association
  • 2011 - Jillings Award, Psychological Society of Saskatchewan
  • 2010 - Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation Achievement Award
  • 2010 - Canadian Council of Professional Psychology Programs - Award of Excellence in Professional Training
  • July 2005 – June 2007 - President's Scholar – University of Regina (3 course teaching reduction)
  • May 2005 - Alumni Association Award for Excellence in Research – University of Regina
  • May 2002 - Canadian Pain Society Early Investigator Award
  • April 1999 - YWCA of Regina Women of Distinction Award - Health and Wellness
  • June 1999 - Canadian Psychological Association's President's New Researcher Award